Coaching Staff

Director:
Halston Taylor
Email: hwtaylor@mit.edu
Phone: 617-253-4918
MIT Athletics bio

Halston Taylorís tenure at MIT began in 1982, as an assistant with the menís track and field squad. He would take over as the head coach of the men in 1990 and has served as Director of MITís Track and Field programs for the past eight seasons, solidifying MITís position as one of the most dominant track and field programs in the region. He is an 18-time NEWMAC Coach of the Year, and was named the Womenís Coach of the Year in both 2017 and 2018. This season, the womenís team claimed both the ioutdoor New England Division III Championship and won its 11th consecutive NEWMAC title.

Under Taylorís guidance, his teams have produced a combined total of 332 All-America honors and 18 national champions, including a pair in 2010, three in 2015 and one in 2016. In 2017, Taylor was named the New England Womenís Indoor Coach of the Year, the ninth straight year he won either the menís or womenís regional coach of the year honors. In 2015-16, Taylor was named the USTFCCCA New England region Menís Coach of the Year, both indoor and outdoor.

Before arriving at MIT, Taylor coached the womenís track club at South Carolina and was the boyís track coach at both Granby and Mohawk Regional high schools in Massachusetts.

A native of Columbia, S.C., Taylor is a graduate of the University of South Carolina where he was a four-year letter winner and a 4:05-miler. After receiving his undergraduate degree in Physical Education, Taylor entered UMass-Amherst to study and receive his Masters in Exercise Science.

Associate Head Coach:
Todd Linder (Head Throws/Multis)
Email: lindert@mit.edu
Phone: 617-253-3633
MIT Athletics bio

Assistant Coaches:

Connor Hall (Head Pole Vault)
Email: connorh@mit.edu
MIT Athletics bio

Selwyn Maxwell (Head Sprints/Hurdles)
Email: maxwells@mit.edu
MIT Athletics bio

Derek Rousseau (Head Jumps)
Email: derekrou@mit.edu
MIT Athletics bio

Nate Sharpe (Pole Vault)
Email: nsharpe@mit.edu
MIT Athletics bio

Louise van den Heuvel (Distance)
Email: lheuvel@mit.edu
MIT Athletics bio